In early 1998, The Oakland Museum of California will commemorate the sesquicentennial of the gold discovery with a series of exhibitions representing the history, art, and technology of the Gold Rush. One such exhibition, Silver & Gold: Cased Images of the California Gold Rush, will explore the remarkable conjunction of the Gold Rush with the arrival of photography. This exhibition of 150 daguerreotypes and ambrotypes made between 1848 and 1860 will be on view at The Oakland Museum from January 24 through July 26, 1998. Silver & Gold will travel to the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, from October 30, 1998 through March 7, 1999; and to the Crocker Art Museum from August 13 through October 10, 1999. The exhibition is accompanied by a fully illustrated, 160-page catalog, with essays by John Wood, author, poet and founding president of the Daguerreian Society; Peter Palmquist, author, independent scholar and curator in the field of photography; and co-curators Marcia Eymann and Drew Johnson.
The Oakland Museum of California is a treat for Bay Area visitors and Californians alike. Exhibitions and programs have a vibrant, lively, multicultural focus. The Museum is located in sunny downtown Oakland, easily reached from San Francisco and other Bay Area points by rapid transit (BART, bus) or car. The museum is only 15 minutes from Oakland International Airport. The Museum also has an informative web site.
Address: 1000 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607
Hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday-Saturday; noon to 7 p.m. Sunday.
Admission: $5 general, $3 for seniors (65+) and students. Free to Oakland Museum of California and American Association of Museums members, and free to children five and under. There are special group rates for schools and educational insititutions. Call 510/238-3514 for more information. The museum is FREE to all every Sunday from 4 to 7 p.m.
The Daguerreian Society wishes to thank The Oakland Museum for allowing us to feature these daguerreian treasures. We especially wish to thank Mr. Drew Johnson of the Museum for the accompanying text.